4,000 Honduran Refugees Are Headed To The US

It has been a very sad week here in Honduras as thousands of people have formed caravans and are marching on foot to the US. These are people who are undeterred by threats of death or violence because that is their reality already here in Honduras. I feel so heartbroken seeing the parents carrying their small children on this very dangerous endeavor but I also acknowledge that a week ago their hunger was the same, I just didn’t see it on my TV.

Honduran migrant caravan

I am at a loss for what to actually say other than I don’t want to be indifferent. I don’t want to just accept that human beings can live this level of suffering. I feel impotent and overwhelmed by the situation.

I am never an advocate for anyone to go to the US illegally. I am a strong advocate for staying in Honduras and fighting for what is best for Honduras. My optimism is usually dismissed by locals as unrealistic. The corruption and impunity are shocking and yet the norm.

I still want to believe that Hondurans can achieve excellence in all areas and reverse the intrinsic corruption and classism. I feel all the more inspired to continue creating jobs. God gave me a heart for Honduras and for at-risk youth. God has provided me opportunities so that I can share those opportunities with others. 4.5 years ago I gave up my formal job in Roatan and moved back to Progreso to work online. Since then I have gone from scattered hourly work to full-time employment for myself and 6 other people. We are working online and trying to create our own work utopia in a landscape of low wages and exploitive employment norms.

I ask for kindness for the people in this caravan. While horrified by their decision, we need to ask ourselves what would drive thousands of people to take such a risk… and then we need to show compassion.

I am praying for all of Honduras. I will keep my head down and keep working for my community. I ask everyone, wherever you are, to extend a helping hand to someone, anyone, in any part of the world. This will be an act of solidarity with refugees around the world who are seeking compassion and are willing to do whatever it takes to thrive.

Read more:

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/10/honduras-migrants-undeterred-trumps-military-threat-181019121505853.html

One response to “4,000 Honduran Refugees Are Headed To The US

  1. juliannew

    This breaks my heart. Thank you for sharing.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a comment